The purpose of the Montgomery County Noxious Weed Department is to eradicate weeds which have been deemed noxious by the State of Kansas and/or Montgomery County.

To aid County residents with the control of noxious weeds, chemicals may be purchased from Montgomery County Noxious Weed, 112 N. Wald, Independence, KS, Monday – Friday between 2:30 pm and 3:30 pm.

If you have any questions regarding noxious weeds and/or chemicals, please call Noxious Weed at (620) 331-4139.

Accepted forms of payment include check or cash. Credit and debit cards not accepted.

Noxious Weeds List (for Montgomery County)

  • Bur Ragweed (Bursage) (Ambrosia grayii)
  • Canada Thistle (Cirsium arvense)
  • Field Bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis)
  • Hoary Cress (Cardaria draba)
  • Johnsongrass (Sorghum halepence)
  • Kudzu (Pueraria lobata)
  • Leafy Spurge (Euphorbia esula)
  • Multiflora Rose (Rosa multiflora)
  • Musk Thistle (Carduus nutans)
  • Pignut (Hoffmannseggia densiflora)
  • Quackgrass (Agropyron repens)
  • Russian Knapweed (Centaurea repens)
  • Sericea Lespedeza (Lespedeza cuneate)
For images and additional information please visit the Kansas Department of Agriculture Noxious weed program.