District 1

District 2

District 3

robert bever

Robert Bever 620-330-3240

Larry McManus 620-330-0450

Mike Cordray 620-330-2932

The  Board of Commissioners is the governing body representing the citizens of Montgomery County. Kansas state statute authorizes the commission to perform legislative and administrative powers and duties. The Board of Commissioners approves the budget for all county departments, elected and appointed, approves contracts, and enacts resolutions and regulations to ensure the public health, safety and well-being of all citizens of Montgomery County.

There are three members on the Board of Commissioners with one commissioner elected from each of the three commission districts. The districts are divided equally on the basis of population and in accordance with state statutes are realigned every three years. Four-year terms of office are staggered so that no more than two commissioners are elected at any general election. Commissioners are elected on a partisan basis.

Commission Meetings

The Montgomery County Board of Commissioners meets on Monday of each week and occasionally on Thursday if needed, except holidays. These meetings are listed in the County’s official newspaper, this year it is the County Chronicle. Meetings are scheduled from 9:00am to noon and in the afternoons as required. 

The meetings are held in the Commission Office, in the basement of the Judicial Center, 300 East Myrtle, Independence, KS. With few exceptions as provided by statute, these meetings are open to the public. If you would like to contact the Board please call the County Clerk at 620-330-1200.

Any mail for the Commissioners or the Board of Commissioners should be addressed to PO Box 446, Independence, KS 67301.